NEWS 09.05.12

Christopher Bailey announces Fashion Fringe 2012 Semi-Finalists

Fashion Fringe, the emerging talent platform set up by Colin McDowell in association with IMG Fashion, today announced the ten Semi-Finalists for the 2012 award, selected by the project’s 2012 Chair, Christopher Bailey, Chief Creative Officer of Burberry.

Aspiring designers submitted applications throughout March and April, in the hope of being selected for the prestigious accolade, received previously by the likes of FYODOR GOLAN, Corrie Nielsen, Erdem and Basso & Brooke. Each applicant supplied sketches of their proposed collections complete with fabric swatches, full production costings and an application form that detailed their fashion inspirations and approach to starting a legitimate fashion business.

Following an intense day of judging and careful consideration, Christopher Bailey selected ten designers to go through to the next round and commented:

“It has been truly inspiring to review the work of these incredibly bright and creative entrants – each and every one of them with such a strong expression and point of view. The submissions that we have seen today reinforce the amazing talent, energy and creativity that run through the UK and I am so proud to be able to help nurture the next generation of visionaries who will be shaping the world of design in the future.”

Colin McDowell, Founder and Creative Director of Fashion Fringe, commented:

“The selection process was a joyful and stimulating experience, with Christopher’s careful and thoughtful approach to the work of each individual contestant well in evidence. But the really marvellous moment was when he asked if he could phone the ten Semi Finalists himself to give them the good news. A spontaneous gesture, which I can assure you made the days of ten young people as he talked to them individually. It said so much about this very special person.”

The ten 2012 Fashion Fringe Semi-Finalists are (in alphabetical order):

  1. Cornel Bolt (Cornel Bolt)
  2. Dobrowolski Af Rosenborg (Heta Dobrowolski & Caroline af Rosenborg)
  3. Dejan (Dejan Agatonovic)
  4. Fischer (Nadine Fischer)
  5. Haizhen Wang (Haizhen Wang)
  6. Miyoko Kamijo (Miyoko Kamijo)
  7. Raffaele Ascione (Raffaele Ascione)
  8. Shu Ting Wang (Shuting Wang)
  9. Teija (Teija Eilola)
  10. Vita Gottlieb (Vita Gottlieb)

For more information on each of the Semi Finalists, click here.

Following a demanding day of technical assessment and a board interview with Christopher Bailey and Colin McDowell, three Finalists will be announced at an invitation-only industry reception on Tuesday 22nd May. These three designers will then work throughout the summer in the Fashion Fringe studio space at the London College of Fashion, creating their capsule collections to be presented at London Fashion Week in September – supported throughout by Fashion Fringe’s mentoring programme.

At the final catwalk show in September, one designer will be selected by Christopher Bailey as the overall winner and will receive a two-year development package to set up and sustain their business; which includes a mixture of financial support, business advice, mentoring and a fully equipped studio at Somerset House.

- ENDS -


Notes to Editors

For all enquiries please contact Good Relations Life:
Katie Mitchell-Baxter +44 (0)20 7861 3143 /
Nicola Hamilton: +44 (0)20 7861 3189 /

Previous Article Next Article

Comments are closed.